NEET Counselling in Karnataka


Karnataka Examination Authority (KEA) is the counselling conducting authority responsible for holding admissions for 85% State Quota seats in various government and private (including Karnataka Professional Colleges Foundation
– Consortium of Medical, Engineering, Dental, Karnataka (KPCF – COMEDK), Karnataka Religious & Linguistic Minority Professional Colleges Association (KRLMPCA) and Association of Minority Professional Colleges in Karnataka (AMPCK) institutions of Karnataka.
KEA conducts a centralised counselling process through a combination of offline and online modes. Registration and seat allotment is done online, while verification of documents is done offline. As per the directions of the Government, KEA invites online registrations from eligible candidates who qualify the NEET exam in a given academic year and then ascertains their eligibility offline through document verification procedure before allotting seats to candidates for admissions to medical and dental courses.
As per the Medical Council of India (MCI) and Dental Council of India (DCI) data, there are a total of 57 Government, Private and Deemed medical colleges and 45 dental colleges offering around 8695 MBBS and 2740 BDS seats (inclusive of AIQ and Deemed seats; subject to change) located in the state of Karnataka. The candidates seeking admission to the State Quota seats offered by these colleges have to fill the online application/registration form as and when it is released by the KEA.
In order to become eligible for consideration by KEA for admission under 85% state quota in Karnataka, a candidate must ensure that they have qualified the NEET exam by scoring more than or equal to marks as stipulated under NEET
cutoff requirement which candidates can check under the ‘Qualifying Marks in NEET UG’ section of this E-book.